Annual Awards

The purpose of the awards is to recognize Family Studies educators who have demonstrated effective education programs, teaching techniques, professional development activities, and/or shown leadership in Family Studies and sustained contribution to the OFSHEEA organization. Educators must hold a current OFSHEEA membership to be eligible for nomination. Students who are enrolled in a post secondary Family Studies qualifications program at an accredited Faculty of Education in Ontario may apply for an OFSHEEA scholarship, awarded annually.

Each year OFSHEEA encourages nominations for each of the awards listed here. All submissions are to be made to the awards committee by October 30, 2021 to be considered for selection in that year. To nominate a colleague, click on the buttons below the award name you wish to nominate them for, and complete the Google document.  The form will automatically be forwarded to the awards selection committee.  The awards selection committee then reviews the applications and makes final selections. All awards are celebrated at our Awards Luncheon held at our annual fall conference.

Adelaide Hoodless Award

2020 Recipient Roula Kteily-Hawa

Adelaide Hoodless Award

The award recognizes the vision of Adelaide Hoodless and the outstanding contributions she made to the profession. Hoodless was instrumental in the founding of Domestic Science, more widely known today as Family Studies education. Hoodless’ commitment to bettering the lives of individuals and families is what the recipient of this award demonstrates.

Heather Bamford

2019 Recipient Heather Bamford

Centennial Leadership Award

The Centennial Leadership Award recognizes an OFSHEEA member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, commitment, and dedication to Family Studies education. The recipient of this award demonstrates involvement in local, regional or provincial leadership activities that enhance and promote Family Studies Professional Development.


2018 Recipient Jenni Marr

Jean McLarty Award

The Jean McLarty Volunteer Service Award recognizes an OFSHEEA member who has demonstrated outstanding volunteerism to the organization. The recipient of this award has shown consistent commitment to volunteer involvement in the association for a minimum of ten years.

Margaret & Sharon

2019 Recipients Margaret Raposo & Sharon Lane 

(Central West Region)

Regional Merit Awards

This award is to recognize the contributions in each of the six Ontario regions by Family Studies educators. These individuals have demonstrated effective education programs, exemplary teaching techniques, and/or leadership initiatives in activities which provide stimuli for other educators.

Photo on 2020-07-08 at 7.32 PM

2010 Recipient Jennifer Hill

Student Scholarships

This scholarship is intended to help promote an interest in teaching Family Studies in Ontario at the secondary level. An annual scholarship (or two) may be awarded to a student(s) completing a post-secondary Family Studies Qualifications program at an accredited Faculty of Education in Ontario.

OFSHEEA celebrates excellence by honouring members of the Association that exemplify outstanding practices. Discover the names of past award recipients for each of the OFSHEEA awards and help us recognize their contribution to the field of Family Studies-Home Economics.