Annual Awards

The awards recognize family studies educators who have demonstrated effective education programs, teaching techniques, professional development activities, shown leadership in Family Studies and have contributed to OFSHEEA in various ways. Educators must hold a current OFSHEEA membership to be eligible for nomination with the exception of the 3 Awards of Merit. Students who are enrolled in a post-secondary Family Studies qualifications program at an accredited Faculty of Education in Ontario may also apply for an OFSHEEA scholarship, awarded annually.

Each year, OFSHEEA encourages nominations for each of the awards listed here. Nominations are welcomed throughout the year and this year all submissions by the end of September 2024, are to be considered for selection this year.
To nominate a colleague, click on the buttons below the award name you wish to nominate them for and complete the Google Form. The form will automatically be forwarded to the awards selection committee. The awards selection committee then reviews the applications and makes final selections. All awards are awarded and celebrated at the annual OFSHEEA Annual General Meeting

2021 Recipient Cindy Ghartey

Adelaide Hoodless Award

This award honours a current OFSHEEA member who is strongly committed to improving the quality of life of students, families, and communities. The recipient carries on the vision of Adelaide Hoodless and her outstanding contributions to teaching life skills and Home Economics by educating with the goals of inclusion and equity. Hoodless was instrumental in making Domestic Science (now known as Family Studies) accessible to all, and her intentions live on in those educators who recognize injustices in society and use the power of Family Studies to address them.

2022 Recipient

Michelyn Gallant

Centennial Leadership Award

The Centennial Leadership Award recognizes an OFSHEEA member who has demonstrated long-term outstanding commitment and dedication to the field of Family Studies. education.  The awardee demonstrates passion and innovation in their teaching practice and pedagogy, and they demonstrate leadership in Family Studies education and professional development beyond their classroom, in their school, and district school board.

2018 Recipient Jenni Marr

Jean McLarty Award

The Jean McLarty Volunteer Service Award recognizes an OFSHEEA member who has demonstrated considerable volunteerism and consistent commitment to the association in various ways. The recipient lives out the values of OFSHEEA and recognizes and amplifies the importance of the work the association does with the aim of improving and strengthening Family Studies Education in Ontario.

2022 Recipient of the OFSHEEEA Award of Merit

Lisa Sidorkewicz (HWDSB)

2021 Recipients of former Regional merit Award

Carrie Clarkson (Central West) &

Val Hohowanski (Central East)


This award will be awarded to up to 3 certified Family Studies qualified teachers in Ontario per year. The award recognizes the dedication and exemplary teaching in Family Studies education. The nominees have demonstrated a love for family studies through using innovative, creative, and inclusive teaching techniques to better the quality of life of individuals and families.

(Note, awardees no longer have to be a current OFSHEEA members to receive this award.)

20223 Recipients

Anna Buhr & Alex Paulger

2022 Recipients

Cassandra MacEachern & Eveline Ng

Student Scholarships

This scholarship is intended to help promote an interest in teaching Family Studies in Ontario at the secondary level. An annual scholarship (or two) may be awarded to a student(s) completing a post-secondary Family Studies Qualifications program at an accredited Faculty of Education in Ontario.

OFSHEEA celebrates excellence by honouring members of the Association that exemplify outstanding practices. Discover the names of past award recipients for each of the OFSHEEA awards and help us recognize their contribution to the field of Family Studies-Home Economics.